member europe dating site Plm equipment growth fund v liquidating trust

), is the lower house of the Congress of the Philippines.

There are 234 legislative districts in the country, each composed of about 250,000 people.There are also party-list representatives elected through the party-list system who constitute not more than twenty percent of the total number of representatives.Aside from having its concurrence on every bill in order to be passed for the President's signature to become a law, the House of Representatives has the power to impeach certain officials, and all money bills must originate from the lower house.The House of Representatives is headed by the Speaker, currently Pantaleon Alvarez of Davao del Norte.The official headquarters of the House of Representatives is at the Batasang Pambansa (literally, national legislature) located in the Batasan Hills in Quezon City in Metro Manila.

The building is often simply called Batasan and the word has also become a metonym to refer to the House of Representatives. Notice the one-party dominance of the Nacionalistas from 1907 to 1941, the two-party system with the emergence of the Liberal Party in 1946, the return of one-party dominance by the KBL from 1978 to 1984, and the multiparty system from 1987 to the present.

At the beginning of American colonial rule, from March 16, 1900, the sole national legislative body was the Philippine Commission with all members appointed by the President of the United States.

Headed by the Governor-General of the Philippines the body exercised all legislative authority given to it by the President and the United States Congress until October 1907 when it was joined by the Philippine Assembly.

William Howard Taft was chosen to be the first American civilian Governor-General and the first leader of this Philippine Commission, which subsequently became known as the Taft Commission.

The Philippine Bill of 1902, a basic law, or organic act, of the Insular Government, mandated that once certain conditions were met a bicameral, or two-chamber, Philippine Legislature would be created with the previously existing, all-appointed Philippine Commission as the upper house and the Philippine Assembly as the lower house.

This bicameral legislature was inaugurated in October 1907.